Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

New to HHR Realm

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 08:20 PM

Talking New to HHR Realm

Im new to the HHR and new to this forum. I recently became the proud owner of a 2008 HHR. It has the premium factory audio equip. I have audio equip to install. I have looked on a few sites for faceplate adapters, wiring harnesses and the items necessary to keep the steering wheel controlls. I almost bought a bunch of stuff, butt i thought maybe id post on here first and see some opinions on where the best place to get this stuff is. Im a little confused about the harness situation, as far as if a particular harness will allow the steering buttons to function- or if i need a harness and some other device. I found (here on this site) some great step by step pics on taking out the factory radio, im wondering if there is some similar information about taking the doors and panels apart to install the speakers. The audio equip is new single din head unit, 2 amps, 2 -10inch subs, door speakers, and 2 6x 8s, monster cables. Any tips, suggestions or advice is appreciated.
Old 06-06-2012, 08:56 PM
Former Sponsor

Welcome!
Old 06-06-2012, 09:49 PM

I've looked into the upgrade, too, and still plan to do it on mine. I found there are several different companies out there saying the make the harness you need to maintain steering wheel controls, as well as the audio alerts that the BCM sends through the audio system. But many people have learned the hard way that these cheaper harnesses either don't work or cause whole new problems. It appears that one of the best places to buy the harness is from Crutchfield. They may be a bit more expensive, but I'd rather pay a bit more to make sure I have exactly the right one.

Let us know how it all goes.