Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Premium Audio?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2006, 09:47 AM

Premium Audio?

I purchased a 2LT with the "premium audio" system. Sounded pretty good but it only had a single CD changer, so the dealer agreed to upgrade it to a 6 CD changer.

When I got the car back the CD changer worked fine but the bottom had dropped out of the "premium" audio system.

The service folks at the dealer said they needed to reprogram the system which they did, no change. I spoke to the techician and he told me that the reprogramming asks if you have a US8 or US9 changer. After he replied US9 it said thanks. Didn't ask anything about do you have the regualr or "premium" sound system. The tech could hear the difference and he is try to work with Delphi, I believe, on the problem.

I am not looking to crack the pavement with sound (I am a musician and like to crack the walls with sound). I just want a very good sound system in this car.

Any suggestions on how I can get this unit performing the best that it can or am I expecting too much out of it?
Old 05-27-2006, 11:57 AM

Originally Posted by PDice
(I am a musician and like to crack the walls with sound). I just want a very good sound system in this car...am I expecting too much out of it?
Yep. Replacing it with a high-quality aftermarket head unit will give you a day and night sonic difference - even with the stock speakers. Many here have upgraded to aftermarket speakers as well. I'm using Pioneer TS-1681's and they are much more detailed than the stockers.

Best of luck with it!
Old 05-27-2006, 12:12 PM

[QUOTE=SoCalHHR]Yep. Replacing it with a high-quality aftermarket head unit will give you a day and night sonic difference -

I am not usp ont the terminology but If I understand you correctly--