Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Stock radio and smart phone question

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 07:38 AM
Platinum Member

Stock radio and smart phone question

I finally had to replace my old flip phone and upgraded to a Galaxy S model. I managed to pair the phone up to the Bluetooth system on my 2010 SS.
Here's the problem/question: I plugged the charger cord into the USB port on the radio to charge up the phone. Ten minutes into my ride to work, the radio sound cuts off and the radio readout displays "Connecting". The sound returns after a minute or so and the "Connecting" goes off. Couple minutes later it does the same scenario all over again. This happened about 3-4 times before I just unplugged the phone. I then had to turn off/on the radio to restore the sound.
Is this normal? Or is there something I need to program or reconfigure? Granted, I'm not tech savvy by any means, and this new phone is way more advanced than I am used to.
I have read the cars owner manual(didn't see anything) and looked through the phone owners manual( nothing seemed to match my issue).
So. Short of me going by the phone store for help, does anyone have any advice on this?
Old 09-04-2013, 10:11 AM
Platinum Member

Good morning. Ahhh a new phone - I'm still getting used to mine as well.

I am not familiar with the newer head units with the USB and Bluetooth, but I'm thinking that you might have to go to a separate USB charger off of the cigarette lighter/power port rather than use the USB built into the head unit. The USB port may not support some of the newer phones - much like some people have reported problems with specific USB memory sticks.

Does the Bluetooth work fine without the USB connection?
Old 09-04-2013, 10:23 AM
Administrator

the USB port on your radio head unit may not power your phone to recharge it, just to play music thru it, you will need to charge it as whopper has stated thru USB port power adapter to power port.