Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

stock radio without xm

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2007, 04:21 PM

stock radio without xm

I have premium sound system, but do not have xm receiver. can I add a receiver to my radio for xm work in my stock radio?
Old 10-07-2007, 04:59 PM

Yes if you want to add a XM receiver. You can find them at any audio store. I have a sirius one in my HHR LS
Old 10-07-2007, 05:45 PM

I want to add it to my radio without having an extra receiver hanging on my dash or windshield. Is there anything I can add to my stock radio?
Old 12-01-2007, 10:22 AM

Originally Posted by ballplr
I want to add it to my radio without having an extra receiver hanging on my dash or windshield. Is there anything I can add to my stock radio?
I'm no expert, but i'm sure the stock radio needs to be XM ready(which means a built in receiver)
Old 12-01-2007, 10:39 AM

I have premium sound system, but do not have xm receiver. can I add a receiver to my radio for xm work in my stock radio?
If you have a sub in the rear, and a cat button on the radio, then you have the premium radio. I think you may have the base unit. I think the others came xm ready and with 3 months free xm when bought new. At least both of ours did. We have 2 2006's, a LT and a 2LT.

Originally Posted by Brewer13
I'm no expert, but i'm sure the stock radio needs to be XM ready(which means a built in receiver)
Brewer is right though, if you don't have it, lot of work to add it.

From the pics of your car, you don't have the xm antenna, so I think you may have the base unit which means no xm.
Old 12-01-2007, 12:38 PM