Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Think im finally done with this thing...

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2008, 09:32 PM

Think im finally done with this thing...

I just put the finishing touches on my HHRs system. (rear components and tuning!) It has been a work in progress I thought i'd share what I did on here to maybe provide some insight for HHR newbies who want to upgrade. Disclaimer: I am an amateur myself i'm sure there are better ways to do some of this stuff this is what ended up working for me I am very happy Finished it turned out plenty loud and very clear. Maybe in the future if I got nuts i'll get some bigger amps, dual subs, and a truckload of dynamat but for now I am very content. This is plenty for some serious hearing damage when cranked.

I started like anyone else replacing my stock door speakers. I used MBQuart discus 6.5s running off of the stock deck. It sounded ok but very underpowered and the stock sub just didn't do it for me. Here's what I ended up doing:

Deck: JVC KD-Bt1 - I went with this deck because it has bluetooth phone support , USB , MP3 , a decent screen, and its not really that expensive. The bluetooth on this deck works flawlessly , the menus were complex at first but I got the hang of it after a few weeks. While it could have better control of the sound in some ways I don't think there is a better bang for the buck. It's hooked into the stock crazyness with a metra box.

I put the bluetooth mic here.

I ran the USB cable up into the storage box so I could hook a harddrive up. Gotta have my Mp3s I cannot stand to listen to the radio EVER.

For the speakers , I replaced the 2way MBQuarts with Infinity 6020CS components. I placed the front tweeters in the doors (10 inches from the woofers) and the rears in the middle pillar. I left the stock pillar tweeters in place with adjustable limiters on them for sound stage adjustment.

Front placement.