Brakes | Suspension | Shocks | Struts Brakes,Springs, Shocks,Front End Components & Steering

Installed Ksport Coilovers...One Week Review

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2014, 03:21 PM

Installed Ksport Coilovers...One Week Review

Well I've had my Ksport coilovers on for a week now so I figured I'd write up a review of what I thought of them and the install process. Keep in mind that this is the first set of coilovers I've ever owned so I'm still a rookie when it comes to the terminology and lingo so bare with me.

I installed the coilovers with the help of another HHR owner (member here as well). It doesn't take two people to get the job done but it sure helps to have an extra set of hands especially on the front struts. The coilovers were actually easier to install than the springs I did a few years back because the coilovers come pretty much ready to install whereas when you do the springs you have to break down the struts to put the new springs on, etc. We started around noon and I finished up around 6:00. I was working super slow and we actually took my Canucks out and put them in his SS so we were doing both cars. I can pretty much break down the fronts in less than a half our per side now...the rears about the same. On a scale of 1 to 10...10 being hard I'd put this install in around a 6. Making sure you have the right tools is key.

Now the Ksports have some advantages and some disadvantages over the others. For the price ($1k) they same to be some of the best fully adjustable coilovers for the money next to the BC coils. The Ksports seem to get a little more drop than the BCs too which is why I went with them. On my initial install I had the fronts set to full low and the rears I had the two lock rings in but at the lowest setting. This is a late afternoon pic on an iPhones but this is how she looked...my camber severely negative (hard to see in pics) and my car hated it!!!

Name:  IMG_5406_zps15c1a5d7.jpg
Views: 1734
Size:  154.3 KB