General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Looking to ground Digital antenna

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2022, 02:28 PM

Looking to ground Digital antenna

So it seems I am a bit late to the party, but I have managed to purchase a HHR in the year of our lord 2022.
Its one of the early makes from 2006 for the US market (assembled in Mexico), but its an import as I live in Germany.
Now I just want to ask, is it sure that if I remove that plastic cover that says 'airbag' I will be greeted by a torx screw instead of a surprise explosion to the face?
I have little experience with tinkering with cars however I want to install a DAB+ receiver that needs grouding to metal frame of the car. It has an antenna that needs to be stuck to the windshield and it has a really short grounding cable so it needs to go there.
Previous owner replaced the original radio to some chinese cr*p with a display and its mostly just playing static which is really annyoing. However I do need to play something as the heating fan in the middle console has bad bearing and its making a horrible sound constantly (I will replace that next as soon as I find out where exactly it is and how to get to it.)

Pic of car

Old 12-18-2022, 03:11 PM

I have no idea why you would want to go anywhere near the airbag to do that. It would be a lot easier to route the wires under the moulding. What do you think is the difference in "grounding to the metal frame" and just grounding. There is no actual frame in an HHR, just the all metal grounded body. Ground is ground. Old cars had the engine for ground and the body grounded to it, modern cars are the opposite.

The blower is under/behind the glove box. It needs to be cut out with a knife unless it has been replaced before.

A 2006 needs to have the butyl patch under the cowl on the passenger side inspected and probably fixed. Wet passenger side floor, corroded blower and resistor result.