General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Zero throttle fuel usage?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2009, 10:37 AM

Zero throttle fuel usage?

Hey, wasn't there a forum on mileage/hyper-miling?

Anyway, my question is:
If you lift your foot off the throttle while in gear is there ANY fuel going through the injectors?

The reason I ask is that I have a habit of putting my cars in neutral and coasting when I am coming up to a stop/red light and nobody behind me. I figure I am saving on fuel and brakes, but got to thinking that it takes fuel to make the engine idle, but not when it is in gear and moving.

Are there differences in engines (2.0, 2.2, 2.4), or auto vs. manual?

Being an Engineer, I think about stupid stuff like this
Old 02-10-2009, 10:47 AM

The engine require fuel to run, period. It will run at a much lower rpm, lower rpm=less fuel used, without pressure on the throttle, but it still requires fuel or else the engine would stall.
Old 02-10-2009, 10:47 AM

theres alwas fuel going through the injectors i believe. i do the same with neutral and i know i save on gas while doing it.
Old 02-10-2009, 10:53 AM

Originally Posted by GDZHHR
The engine require fuel to run, period. It will run at a much lower rpm, lower rpm=less fuel used, without pressure on the throttle, but it still requires fuel or else the engine would stall.
That's not true, haven't you ever ran out of gas? If you were doing 75mph on the expressway and ran out of fuel while in gear (manual trans). The engine would continue to turn until you came to a complete stop.

I would think that in this fuel economy minded world that the guys who program the ECUs would have zero fuel programed while coasting, but not sure? There may be a reason fuel is needed?
Yes, I know that below a certain RPM you would want fuel going to the engine so that it does not stall when the clutch is pushed in.....

Come on now, anyone know for sure?