HHR SS Topics and information on the 2008-2010 Chevy HHR SS Turbocharged models.

Oil change after engine break-in

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2008, 12:14 PM

Oil change after engine break-in

My HHR SS is my first GM vehicle (don't shoot me all I have ever owned before have been Ford products). So I am new to the oil life system on these vehicles. After the 500 mile engine break-in would it be a good idea to drain the oil and change the filter? An old drag racing friend of mine advised doing this to drain out any metal particles, casting materials, etc.. collected in the oil from break-in. What he says makes sense however the owner's manual does not suggest this and states to follow the oil life monitor.

What are you guys doing? Would there be any adverse effects to changing the oil shortly after 500 miles?
Old 04-26-2008, 12:43 PM

I always did my first oil change on a new car at 1,000 miles, regardless of manufacturer. My parents did this while I was growing up, and always said that it was very important. Honestly, my HHR is the first new vehicle that I have not done this with. I hope I'm not making a mistake. The oil and filter that I just removed looked good, however. Not sludgey, not black -- dirty, yes, but I've seen worse.
Old 04-26-2008, 12:46 PM

Just follow what it says in the owners manual. Chevy's doesn't have a "break in". Engines aren't like they were years ago, they are better.
Old 04-26-2008, 01:09 PM

When I bought my SS as a dealer demo it had 3,200 mi. on it. That was one of the first questions I asked the parts manager (who had driven the car) and he said it had not been changed yet. I was a little concerned with this, but he assured me that GM doesn't feel this early first oil change is necessary with this vehicle. It comes from the factory with Mobil 1 synthetic, so it is not going to "wear in" like the typical engines with conventional oil, bearings clearances, and parts.