HHR SS Topics and information on the 2008-2010 Chevy HHR SS Turbocharged models.

Possibly buying an SS and have some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2011, 09:24 PM

Possibly buying an SS and have some questions.

I did read the FAQ's, btw, and also did a cursory reading of the first 5 or so pages of threads. I'm trying to decide between getting an SS or just a nice 2LT. I already have an '08 Trailblazer SS, but may sell it if I get the HHR SS (will fit better in the garage and get WAY better gas mileage). If I get the 2LT, I'll keep the TB SS.

Here are my questions:
If I do get an SS, I want it stock. Is there an easy way to tell if the car has been modded? (I'm totally new to HHR's so don't be afraid to over explain)

Do the turbos have any extra maintenance? Any reliability problems in stock form?

Does anyone recognize this SS? It's near Buffalo, NY and has ~32K miles.
http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail...ff=national#15

I thought the purple lugnuts might stand out here in someone's memory. :)
If you recognize it, I'd appreciate knowing any info (good or bad) on it.

thanks,
-Tim

Last edited by 5speed4; 08-08-2011 at 09:26 PM. Reason: forgot to subscribe to the thread
Old 08-08-2011, 09:54 PM

Got a 2008 SS 5 speed with about the same miles as the one you are looking at. Great little car. I highly recommend it. We bought ours new for my wife and we have enjoyed it. Did have the battery replaced just before 3 year warranty ended on July 5, 2011. Other than that, just routine maintenance when oil change life get down to 10% or so (usually around 8000 miles). On the road she had gotten 32.8 mpg on a 1300 mile trip. When I drive we don't do quite as well. We only use 92/93 octane.
Old 08-08-2011, 10:10 PM