The Lounge Off Topic PG-13.
Warning: The Lounge may contain irrelevant and off topic discussions that may not be related to anything HHR. If you are not interested in these kinds of discussions, do not read or respond to these threads.

My thoughts on recall panic.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 07:34 PM

My thoughts on recall panic.

Ok, I would like to express some of my personal feelings on our GM recall.
I was an auto technician for 18 years. Serving three different Chrysler dealerships
and still hold my master technician certifications. Recalls are not new to the auto industry
many times a manufacture has a TSB about a potential problem for years before it becomes a recall.

Did you know that the dodge caravan has an air bag recall? When it was built someone thought it was a good idea to use the same fuse for the rear wiper and the air bag module.
When the rear wiper failed the air bag was disabled. The supplier of the rear wiper did not do such a good job and the wiper motor failed often.

Did you know that the Chrysler had a recall for the k frames rusting out causing the lower control arm to break loose from the frame?

How about the ford astro van with a towing package that they forgot to put fuse protection in the trailer wiring causing them to catch fire.

You may not heard of any of these but I bet you heard of Toyota accelerating wildly and not able to stop the car and I'm sure you have heard of Firestones tire causing ford explorers to rollover when the tire comes apart without warning.

The first three above where not as well known unless you owned one because the information highway was not as good then. With the power of the internet and the news running with every story they heard, real or not the information highway is just full flowing with information. Some correct some not so much.