Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Intermittent temp gauge and A/C problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2013, 10:53 PM

Intermittent temp gauge and A/C problem

It seems like more and more often, I get the phone call from my wife while she is driving somewhere in the HHR, during which she informs me it is happening again..... What is happening? Simultaneously, the temperature gauge "flatlines," going to the lowest temp position, and the air conditioning stops blowing cold air. After talking to her and experiencing it myself a few times, I have determined there is no pattern to this, it is truly randomly intermittent. It will happen, then the problem will go away sometimes on its own, and sometimes after turning the car off then back on, but sometimes that won't even help. It has been a long time since I worked as a mechanic, but this seems like a weird problem, it seems to me the two shouldn't correlate. Anybody have this problem before?
Old 08-29-2013, 11:09 PM
Platinum Member

Believe it or not, it's the thermostat that has jammed open. When it jams open, most likely due to a deteriorated rubber gasket on the movable valve, the engine is then slow to warm up.

The computer monitors the temp as it warms up, and if it does not warm up fast enough, it blanks out the digital temp with "----", and the analogue gauge drops to the bottom, and to top it off the A/C is disabled.

Depending on the severity of the problem, the computer MAY light up the Check Engine Light - but not always. If the CEL lights up, download the diagnostic code - code P0128 indicates "P0128 Engine Coolant Temperature (ECT) Below Thermostat Regulating Temperature".

Several of us have had the thermostat jam open like this - Here is a link to a how-to-on replacing the thermostat: